Printmaking

Print I made in high school

Print I made in high school

So I’m taking a design thinking class this semester, and every week we have a new creative practice to try, like meditation or getting enough sleep.  This week we had to engage in something creative that we used to do, but haven’t done in awhile.  I immediately thought of printmaking for myself.  I fell in love with block printing in middle school and high school, and for my senior show in undergrad I made some intaglio prints.  It’s a process that I love, but has definitely fallen by the wayside since I left undergrad.

One of my senior show prints.

One of my senior show prints.

So I made three prints, two of them just one color and the other has 4 layers of colors.  I think my favorite is the Save the Bees print, just because it’s so graphic and bold.  It really highlights everything I love about printmaking.  It was really great to be making art again and being reminded that there is a reason I loved it so much.  Plus to be able to go through the entire process of coming up with an idea, planning it out, executing, and having a definitive product at the end.  It was also good to know that this is something that I am capable of doing without having access to a formal studio.  Watch out, because there’s probably more to come!

Winter is coming

Winter is coming

Save the bees!

Save the bees!

Nighttime houses

Nighttime houses

Leave a Reply

