Updaaaates

I was hoping to have some sewing updates in addition to knitting, but I just don’t really have anything that I want to share on that front.  SO here are my knitting updates for now.

First up, progress on Beatnik!

AdobePhotoshopExpress_8affcb2d01ed486d82f8cfe3f1ad6045

I have now finished the back and front of my Beatnik, which I’ve only been working since, like, last summer.  But progress is progress.  I’m going to cast on the sleeves soon so that’s exciting.  While I love the cables, I’m so glad to be done with them.  What I love about knitting is getting into the rhythm of the stitches, and I always feel interrupted when I have to stop to make cables.  But the end product is so pretty and definitely worth it.

AdobePhotoshopExpress_9ae383149d884b97b28fe34316b2cdbf

I’ve also been working on a Hazelhurst for my mom for Christmas.  And I’m cool with putting that here because she already knows about it so I’m not ruining a surprise.  Through a series of unfortunate events, I am making a second Hazelhurst because the first is gone and she really liked it so I’m making a new one.  This one is a little bit bigger so that it fits better on my circulars.  I really love this pattern.  Sure it’s a simple pattern and it can seem a little tedious, but I am all for tedious.  This is the knitting I pick up when I’m watching TV in the evening or if I just need to de-stress.  I’ve also been trying this thing that I read in Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac where I’m marking where I start during a particular knitting session so I can see my progress.  So the blue circle in the photo is where I started last night.  It’s really motivating to do big amounts of knitting this way.  It helps to break down the length, and this is supposed to be 88 inches long when it’s done.

I hope I’ll have some sewing updates soon, I want to get stuff done before school starts up again and I get really busy.

Leave a Reply

