Knitter’s Almanac

knitters almanacOh Elizabeth Zimmermann.  How has it taken so long?  Well, it’s mostly because I don’t like to give in to what’s popular.  So when I first started knitting I kept seeing her name pop up, and all I knew was that her stuff was older and everyone liked her, so I would actively avoid her.  Lately I’ve been wanting to learn more about my craft (I consider my main craft knitting), so I figured it was time for me to get acquainted with Elizabeth Zimmermann, and I checked out Knitter’s Almanac.  And I’m so glad I did.  It seems like this book should be like every other pattern book, just a series of pattern with the directions.  But it’s so much more than that.  I love the way she describes her relationship with knitting, and how she talks about the development of a pattern.  I also love how she really encourages her readers to do their own experimentation and make the patterns their own.  I love how she talks about unventing techniques, realizing that there’s nothing new under the sun.  And most of all, I love her attitude.  She made me smile, and I feel like she got me.  I am obsessed with knitting and I have something on needles all the time.  And Elizabeth understands me.  She gets me.

So if you’re like me and you’ve been avoiding Elizabeth Zimmermann, stop it and get one of her books immediately because if you love knitting, you’ll probably love her too.

Leave a Reply

